New Federal Transportation Bill: MAP 21

Well, if the schedule holds, tomorrow (July 6, 2012) the President will sign into law H.R. 4348 the new transportation bill titled “Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century” or simply MAP-21. Like the previous transportation bills there are bound to be some  profound affects on all transportation projects, and how the local programs world operates.

I have started reading through the bill, and the analysis from other experts in the field, to figure out what funding and process changes will be affecting me, and the local governments and communities that I serve. More importantly though, I am in touch with the people at TDOT who would be the ones actually implementing any of these changes.

Governor Haslam, and Commissioner Schroer will need time to read through the new legislation and decide on how they will put it into action. Based on how I understand MAP-21, they have a good deal of influence on what changes will happen, and what will stay the same.

Change can be seen as a threat or as an opportunity. I choose to see new opportunities rather than lament on the past. Either way you choose to look at it, MAP 21 will be bringing changes to the local programs world. I will do my best to keep you informed on how those changes will affect and shape the local programs world. Here are a few of the places that I have found information on MAP 21, I hope that they are helpful :

http://www.americabikes.org/analysis_of_the_new_transportation_bill_map_21

http://www.govtrack.us/congress/bills/112/hr4348

About arran375

I work for Askew, Hargraves, Harcourt and Associates, Inc. here in Nashville, Tennessee. The short version of what I do is that we help local governments spend the Federal funds they get from TDOT on road, and bridge projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

