Moving Functional Classification of Roadways

For almost 5 years I have been helping communities get road projects funded with STP funding. Although covered in other posts https://localprograms.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/what-projects-need-to-be-on-functionally-classified-roads/ , for the most part in order to be able to use STP funds the project must be on a functional classified route.

The good news is that you can “cut and paste” these routes around. Meaning if there is a  road that is functionally classified, but was just resurfaced last year, and you want to move the classification to another road that is comparable, you could contact Joe Armstrong at TDOT Long Range planning and switch them.

I will fully admit that I am no expert on everything that is involved with this process (I will leave that to Mr. Armstrong at TDOT). My experience would be to let the city contact Joe Armstrong at TDOT about this. The mayor would write Joe a letter formally requesting this and 6 weeks or so latter and things are now magically switched.

Well, I have learned something new. One of the communities that I have been working with wanted to do exactly this and switch up of functional classification in order to get a resurfacing project going. They received a letter back from Mr. Armstrong stating “…For a road to be placed on the Functional Classification System it must make contact with another classified road. No roads may be left disconnected. The roads you want to add do not connect with another classified road.”

Well, that is news to me. I am sure that this has probably been the way it has always been, and I have just not run into this issue before. Since this is news to me, I thought that this would make a great blog post to help get the word out. I hope this helps.

About arran375

I work for Askew, Hargraves, Harcourt and Associates, Inc. here in Nashville, Tennessee. The short version of what I do is that we help local governments spend the Federal funds they get from TDOT on road, and bridge projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

