Why You Should Read This Blog

This is my last week at TDOT, I will take off all next week for family, then begin my new career with Kimley-Horn and Associates. After giving it some thought about what to write about next, it seems like a good idea to lay out just exactly why you as a local programs professional (elected official, consultant, city staff, TDOT staff, or private citizen) should read what I put out here.

The short answer is because I am trying to give it away. I am trying to get out there all the tricks, tips, concepts and process that it takes to get your project funded and built through the TDOT local programs process. If you look at my posts up to this point I have given most of the information that it takes to get a project started, and through most of the steps of the process.

Again, there is no hidden agenda. If you are a consultant from another firm, I hope that this information can help you. There is enough pie out there for everyone. I think that by giving away what I know I can help both you (by saving you time and headaches) and me (by helping me write all of this down).

My motto at Kimley-Horn will be “leave no dollar un-obligated”. I want to get as many projects going and completed with the available funds out there as possible. This way we will make the roads safer, and keep people working. I hope that my weblog will continue to support this mission (and hopefully yours as well).

About arran375

I work for Askew, Hargraves, Harcourt and Associates, Inc. here in Nashville, Tennessee. The short version of what I do is that we help local governments spend the Federal funds they get from TDOT on road, and bridge projects.
This entry was posted in Process. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

