Sidewalks

I have known for a while that yes, you can use your STP funds for sidewalk projects. However, the details on this have been sketchy for me. Reason being is that our Enhancement Office (Neil Hansen & Lisa Dunn) have mainly handled sidewalk projects through their office and funding.

Well, for a couple of reasons it looks like I will have two sidewalk projects that I will work with local governments as they manage them locally using their STP funds.

After talking with our enhancement office here are a couple of things that I have learned that make sidewalk projects different than road projects.

  1. The contract is slightly different. There is some specific language added in our standard “Exhibit  A” and there has be be an additional “Exhibit B”. From what I can gather all of this basically says you must use ASHTO standards when constructing the sidewalk.
  2. You DO NOT have to have the sidewalk along a functionally classified route. For those of you that don’t know what a functionally classified route is, or its importance, that is for another post. So basically you can do sidewalk projects anywhere within the city limits. This is good news in adding flexibility.
  3. If you are building a NEW sidewalk it has to be 5 feet wide. If you are building a new dual use (pedestrian and bicyclist) then it has to be 10 feet wide. You can taper it when tying in at the start and stop of your project. It also must be ADA compatible.
  4. If you are merely replacing an EXISTING sidewalk, then you can replace it with whatever design was originally there if you want.

That is what I have learned so far. I suspect that as these projects develop, I will learn new “in’s and out’s” on how sidewalk projects are different. As I do I will be sure to update this posting. I hope this helps.

About arran375

I work for Askew, Hargraves, Harcourt and Associates, Inc. here in Nashville, Tennessee. The short version of what I do is that we help local governments spend the Federal funds they get from TDOT on road, and bridge projects.
This entry was posted in Process. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

